NB Posts : 9
Created :
Last visit :
Thank you Bruno! The second question was someone else, but that reply helps as well!
Firebird wrote:

I flag this topic for the author. :-)

Did you get any response Firebird?
If you have bought the retail/Classic base set, there are no cards 280 or 283.

Please see the list here: https://the7thcontinent.seriouspoulp.com/documents/t7c/The7thContinent_CLASSIC_cards_list.pdf
Personally, I think you don’t need to overpay for KS versions. I have gone the Classic route, and I will never get bored with this game! As far as I can tell, there is only one Curse from the KS that would be worth getting and that is Swamps of Madness, but it is always very expensive on the markets. I scratched that itch by watching Rob’s Gaming Table do a playthrough! Don’t worry about what you might be missing - “what you’ve never had, you’ll never miss”!
When you played VG before, and found yourself in the underground area that you now recognise, did you map it out? The starting card for Veins looks very much like the same area, don’t you think?
Ok thanks! So you would say, advance as soon as the terrain card is laid down, even though the instruction to move there is no longer in play. I think that’s a good compromise!

I have moved by barge onto Card 778 (Green)
there is no attached exploration card on this card, but there is a mandatory action on the terrain, so I take it which then gives me two non-mandatory options on card 759:

So I take the action which involves me destroying the idol, which banishes my terrain card and replaces it with 778 (Gold) and I lay out an XII exploration card with its mandatory balance action. As I just completed a non-mandatory action I move the barge to the second part of the card. So now I'm on the second part of the card with the mandatory balance action on the exploration card, so I must take it. I pass and flip it and it is the 'Slumber' card. This is another mandatory action, the success of which instructs me to "Move the barge figure to the next section of the canal".

So here's the problem:

I can't move to the next section of the canal at this moment as I am already on the second section and there is no terrain card to move to yet, until I complete this mandatory action!

So do I a) complete the mandatory action, replace it with terrain, then immediately move to new terrain as the (now discarded) event told me to, or b) ignore the instruction as I couldn't complete it at the time it was in play, so I place the terrain and then I have another action available to me on my current terrain?

Phew! I think I have described that well enough!
Hi - do each of the areas - represented by roman numerals - have a description, either official or unofficial?

For example, I think Area II could be "Forest".

I'm sure I saw a list somewhere, but I can't find anything by searching.

I have the base game (Classic) and expansions from the store, so I have most areas.
Hi - is it valid to take a Walk, Fly, or Snowshoe Action, and use the concept of moving to a “reachable terrain card” to effectively stay exactly where I started?

One reason to do this: I might draw an Action card which I decide to keep during the Skill step that helps me deal with an encounter on my terrain card that I couldn’t previously deal with, so I decide I didn’t want to leave it now I have a new skill card.

Specifically for A Prison of Clouds, there is an encounter card called
, which helps you to fly but in a different direction to the one you want to go (in the direction of the encounter card itself). So I could just use the help icons on that card to Fly back to where I started - obeying the continuous terrain rule - and discard
, thus avoiding its more expensive method of discarding it.

Is there an official ruling on being able to succeed a ‘move’ action and choose to stay where I am, if thematically I am actually walking out and back to where I started?