NB Posts : 9
Last visit :
The infinite xp one can still be exploited to a lesser degree without spamming saves. You'll still get lots of xp and advanced skills at very little expense.
While I think the infinite xp one is something that needs to be addressed, this one seems ridiculous. (As well as all those requiring multiple insta-saves to work).
Saves, joining/leaving, and the "not enough space" rule provide "utility tools" that help give a smooth and adaptable game experience.
I mean, it would have been silly to write:
- "if and only if you really are finishing the session for today, you may save. Then, you may not play the game for 12 hours"
- "if an explorer wants to join the adventure, they may do so, but are bound to play at least one hour, and must be played by a real human being".
- "if there is not enough space on the table to place a card, and there isn't a simple solution to the problem (e.g. move a can of beer up to 50 cm away), then you may..."
But the spirit is clearly that one.
I mean, if you really want to, you can cheat any time - it's a co-op game.
I believe it's written like that intentionally to stress that it doesn't go to the past. If you discard it, you'll
mistakenly take golden 000 if you level up again in the same session.
Is there an official stance regarding making fan characters and cards? Can we photoshop something and share it online? (for no profit, obviously!)
And, to this regard - and I know this is asking a lot! - could Serious Poulp provide some vector templates for character cards and skill cards to help us fans make awesome Characters? :)
Good point, but that would involve multiple tactical saving/loading, which is already a grey zone rules-wise. Still, it keeps it technically possible.
On the French side a number of fixes have been suggested, the most simple of which would be to
remove the keyword on Wild Imagination
But the rules do not use those terms, and instead say "use" for your activate, and "apply the effects" for your use.
For example, the first step on resolving an action says:
While I agree that your usage of the keywords would prevent the exploit, it's not what is used in the rulebook.
I believe there is a way to "exploit" an advanced skill for a small benefit which I don't think is the intended use.
The card in question is "Aggressive".
It says, in general terms: If the action you're involved in is a success, and you used an item with the aggressiveness keyword for it, you may discard this to recover 4 (?) cards from the discard to the action deck.
The rules do not seem to forbid the use of totally unrelated items (i.e. bearing no relevant banner nor brown box) during actions, so technically speaking I could use my paddle/club/other aggressive item during a walk action (or any other 0-star action) to trigger this card.
I believe this is not an intended use of this card, and the rules should maybe be tightened to avoid this bug, even though it's pretty minor, I guess.
We decided to add a house rule against it, anyway. :)
Well done. I suspected that
could be exploited, but not to this extent. Congrats! :)
"bunch of nonsense"
The only possible stop point would happen when:
you draw "bad 666" as the last 666 card, apply "bunch of nonsense" to discard it, return the past, and then draw "bad 666" again. That's bound to happen a few times if you're going to do the whole jig some 100 times. (how many exp are the advanced skills worth in total?)