NB Posts : 4
Created :
Last visit :
Hi! Thanks for the reply!

I am aware of the mechanics for when you use an item as part of an action...

But does your reply mean that the same rules apply when you want to intentionally discard an item card and apply the effects of its keyword, even though this is not really part of its intended action?

The FAQs, the rules and the text in the item cards seem to apply only when you use the item as it was intended. For the bolas for instance, the "discard this" prompt is part of the hunt/fight action so you must discard it if you take one of these actions... But if you want to discard an "aggressiveness" card to trigger some effects unrelated to the hunt/fight action, then... can the "discard this" prompt still apply?

Does that also mean that you can willingly discard an item card (which states that can be discarded after being used) at any time? For example, you find a new item (e.g can) but you don't have space in your inventory. Can you immediately discard a meat card from your inventory and put the can in its place (even though the "return this" prompt on a food item card is triggered only if you take the eat action?)

Sorry if this is a much simpler case than I make it to be and I am overthinking it! But I am curious as to how others approach these particular instances of item use.

Thanks again!
Hello all,

I have a question about discarding cards from your inventory based on another card's prompt.

Since you cannot disassemble an item, I guess that if for example you want to apply Dimitri's ability and discard an "aggressiveness" card from your inventory, you need to discard all cards associated with an item and if one of these cards is "aggressiveness" you can apply the effect. Correct?

What if the rules of the card state that it can be discarded after being used (e.g. bolas, fire-making tools, food)? Can I "disassemble" the item then, reduce the use by one, and discard only the card with the keyword I want, in order to trigger the effect?

I hope this makes sense the way I described it!

Thanks in advance!
Posted - Edited
Hello all,

I bought the starter pack version of the 7th Continent, which contains the "Crystal Song", "Voracious Goddess", "Offering to the Guardians" and "Bloody Hunt" curses. After playing and exploring for many, many...many hours (thanks covid..!) there are a few "secrets" I haven't managed to discover and I am wondering if I can only find them out in curses I don't own yet, or if there are more other things to discover in the starter pack. So here's a list of questions about cards that basically all boil down to "Do I need another curse to explore this?"

  1. For example,
    I read somewhere that a purple banner always corresponds to a curse symbol, so I though that to make use of symbols like the spider, snowflake (e.g. card 345), bell (e.g. card 269), semicircle (e.g card 383), spiral (e.g. card 273) and stone (e.g. card 235), I needed other curses I don't own yet.

    However, I found
    card 229 (A secret Place) and the Ophidian stone (card 286) which have purple banners with the spiral and stone symbols and I used them to achieve the "end of the world" ending... This now makes me doubt about whether I can also find other purple banner items/cards with the spider/snowflake/bell/semicircle symbols.
    Can you please clarify if these symbols correspond to curses from other expansions or if I can already do something with them?
    Also, is there anything else I can do with the ophidian stone to get a more positive ending?

  2. Similarly, what about some blue symbols that appear on item cards? For example
    the knife symbol (card 073 - Bone Knife) and the snake symbol (card 061 - Minor Relic)?
    Can I use them with the Starter Pack curses, because I haven't managed to found a use for them.

  3. Another question is
    whether I can achieve the Incarnation of Akecha rank with the Starter Pack curses. I have managed to gain 300 points, but I can't find another monster to push me over the 350-points rank.

  4. Something else that confuses me is cards 438 and 447. What is the point of them?
    All three of them have the same results and don't lead to any fascinating discoveries. So I don't get why have the 438 + (blood symbol) option if there is nothing to new to uncover.
    Am I missing something here? Will it make sense in another curse I do not own or is the continent messing with me?

  5. Similarly, I saw that
    there is a gold 409 card. If the Guardians curse/your adventure ends by drawing the green 409 card... in what occasion will I be able to draw the gold 409?
    Again...do I need another curse I do not own in order to do this?

  6. Finally, what is the "all seeing eye" card? It is mentioned that it is part of the "white expansion" but I'm not sure what is that, since the shop doesn't have a "white expansion"! Is this card part of the Starter Pack version?

Sorry for the long post, I have been playing for quite some time and have been gathering all these questions! By the way, if you made it this far, do you think are there some very well-hidden secrets on the Starter Pack curses I probably haven't found yet (no big spoilers please, just some gentle nudges!)? And from your experience, what do you think is the best expansion I should get next? I would like a bigger challenge but also something that adds replayability to the curses I already have.

Thank you!
Hello all,

I just started playing the 7th continent (just the introductory Crystal Song adventure so far) and there is something that doesn't sit very well with me.

What is the point of returning all past and board cards to their respective decks whenever you save/resume a game and whenever you move to a new location? The adventurers have explored the region and know the terrain, so from a narrative point of view, why do they have to rediscover the same terrain when they wake up/come back?

Wouldn't it make more sense if the terrain, including all unresolved exploration cards, just remained in place and revealed instead of having to be explored again?