Avatar
Utilisateur
Nombre de message : 54
Créé :
Dernière visite :
Posté
Oops - I'm sorry. Must have gotten a knot in my brain...

Of course actions on terrain cards are not available until you are on that card. I thought about exploration cards and wasn't even aware, that those mandatory actions also are to be found on terrain cards.
Posté
Hi Zoople,

red bordered actions are mandatory the moment you reveal them. Whatever action is to be taken, it's something that won't wait until you happen to come back to go that way.

Also you can't switch active player the moment a mandatory action is to be handled. The one who lead the last action is the one who is affected by whatever that action triggered.
Posté
Don't have my game at hand right now, but doesn't have the card
the keyword "elixir" itself
? If i remember correctly,
all cards with the keyword "elixir" i found had the "discard all cards with elixir" thing
.
Posté
sgbeal a écrit :
Lovecraft's Dark Side removes all the curses from the discard. If there's no curses in the discard, it is safe to draw cards from the discard pile on actions -- "Sudden Death mode" can't kill you if there's no curses to draw.


Unless i am very sorely mistaken...

Lovecraft removes the curses from the discards, placing them in the Action deck. You only draw from the discards if the Action deck is empty. i.e. if Lovecraft uses that ability during Sudden Death, it's game over at the next card draw, which is guaranteed to be a Curse.


Actually, it's not game over. If your Action Deck is empty and you use this ability to put all the curses from the Discard into the Action deck, you won't draw curses from the discard. As long as you have tests which allow to draw as much cards as you want, you just choose to draw [number of curses in your deck]+[number of cards you would draw normally]. First you draw all your curses from your Action deck, then you draw the rest from the discard, which doesn't contain any curses at that time.
Posté
I think it's just
the materials you gathered that are to damp, but you may es well look for other stuff
Posté
Uranus? ;)
Posté
Well, you use the item, have to lower its durability by 1, now you can lower the durability of the item containing PC by 1 to not have to lower the durability of the used item. So whether you use the ability of PC or not, the item looses 1 durability.
Posté
jhaelen a écrit :
Tootzo a écrit :
abredon a écrit :

Remember - nothing on the card prevents the first paragraph from being applied in all cases.


Exactly!
Common sense does. It’s clear how the card is intended to work. Becoming over obsessed on how the rules should be worded to be clear when you just need to use common sense just means we’re trying to break the game on purpose to demonstrate it can be broken.

Common sense is a pure substitute for (game) rules.

Using 'common sense' is the typical argument of players that don't want to follow a game's rules because they falsely believe they have a better idea how the game is supposed to work than the game's designer(s).

Anyway, I think I'm done here. I don't recall having met such an irrational resistance to attempts to clarify a set of game rules, ever.
Common sense tells me you are not amenable to reason. It's a sign of the times, I fear. #fakenews


Well, it seems to me that by applying common sense most players played the card right - there is no need to make a rule book as thick as the holy bible just to make sure there is not the least possibility that a player could eventually play a card not the way it was intended.

But i guess as soon as official T7C championships are announced, the developers will provide everything needed to make sure that all players play by the same rules.
Posté
On 1., i'd say you are right.

On 2., no effect is applied.
Posté
If 3 was true, any card with the text "discard this to..." would be discarded without effect as the normal effect comes after the prompt to discard the card and can not be read if you have to follow that prompt immediately

I think the first paragraph of the card was just worded a little poorly. The interpretation 1 is very powerful, but not as powerful as some people seem to think - how often is 1 card enough to do a successful action?
Posté
The durability of an item is lowered either when that item is used or when an effect tells you to lower the durability. If a card of that stack has the phrase "Using this item does not reduce durability value", you have to declare during the item step whether you want to use only that part of the item or the whole item.

If you use an item, you may gain effects from all cards that item consists of if you chose to use the whole item.

You discard/banish single cards from the item only if that is part of an effect. Discarding a card doesn't reduce the item's durability.

If you discard the top card of an item stack, the next card becomes the new top card. You may not rearrange the cards of an item and always have to add new cards to the bottom.
Posté
Also, the WGUMCD character "Phileas Fogg & Jean Passepartout" provides this ability for people who want to play with only one character.
Posté
I don't know about how it is phrased in the French version of the game, but in English it clearly states that
when you reveal a "The strangest encounter!" card during the Result step of an action, you may ignore any flying root figure on your Terrain card.
. As the "The strangest encounter" card
checks for flying root figures the moment it's revealed, that's also the moment you ignore them
.

When you look at what you had to do until you get that last card, i'd say it's a fair deal to finally
get the bonuses from the flying roots without the downside of risking failure
Posté
abredon a écrit :
While it seemed clear that action card text isn't processed when revealed in the Result step, Flying Roots and card 180 don't work with that simplistic interpretation.


I agree that the FR would need such an extra rule, but 180 doesn't. It's second effect is a ongoing effect that is gained when drawing the card from the adventure deck and that is triggered by revealing that card from the action deck.
Posté
Page 12: under "3. Result" it clearly states that only effects from a variety of cards may be applied, cards revealed during the result step are not among those cards. Else there isn't also a rule against using effects you wrote on a paper, so why not just make a note with "you succeed this action and use it at any test, as there is no rule against it?

You always read the complete text on a card before resolving it, so you don't shuffle the card into your action deck before you read the second paragraph. It's after you are informed of the ongoing effect that you shuffle the card into the deck, so from that moment on the second paragraph is triggered whenever the card is revealed from the action deck.

You HAVE a case here with the Flying Roots - i actually thought that exception about cards actually being resolved while revealed from the action deck had been in the expansion rules, but it's not there. So here an errata concerning the use of the FR cards would be a good thing.
Posté
When drawing the card from the adventure deck, the text on the numbered side of the card takes effect in the whole.

As the card is no skill card, you never use it for a possible ability but only for its successes (stars and/or sevens) when revealed from the action deck.

The "When this gets revealed..." effect is actually not an effect you gain when revealing the card, but it's already gained the moment you draw it from the adventure deck and shuffle it into the action deck and is only triggered by revealing it.


I don't see anything here contradicting the rules.
Posté
You are only ignoring the roots when revealing them, thus they don't have the auto-fail effect anymore. All other effects you have from FR journal cards still work. The ingame reason is that you finally befriended the FRs and no they no longer distract you.
Posté
Well, the card isn't as ambiguous as it may seem at the first glance.

As Brisingre already mentioned, the effect of the card is dependant from the situation it shows up.

When drawing the card from the adventure deck, the text on the numbered side of the card takes effect in the whole.

As the card is no skill card, you never use it for a possible ability but only for its successes (stars and/or sevens) when revealed from the action deck.

The "When this gets revealed..." effect is actually not an effect you gain when revealing the card, but it's already gained the moment you shuffle it into the action deck and is only triggered by revealing it.
Posté
Going strictly by the rules the cards are first discarded and therefore already in the discard pile when taking the cards to reshuffle.

Anjika's ability is a little different, as you don't just draw a random card from the discard but choose a specific card. And the problem was that this ability could be abused in a way that wasn't intended.
Posté
Yes - per the rules the one with the "idea" for the item is the active player in crafting it, but he can give the item to any of the involved characters.